top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Graves

Playing Tourist

My last two weeks have been an exciting whirlwind. Two friends from college came to visit, so I had the great pleasure of arranging a two week tour of the southern region of Malawi!


We began in Zomba at the plateau where we hiked a "potato path" straight up the side, and I mean straight up with nary a switchback.


To get back to Namwera, we took "public transit." That is a "minibus" smashed full of as many people as possible. I think there were 19 in ours. My friends were not exactly thrilled.

In Namwera, Kathleen and Liz most generously helped me with last minute grading due to the departure of two teachers from the Language department leaving stacks of ungraded exams that lacked marking keys! ? Yuck!


More happily, Liz and Kathleen had brought a suitcase full to bursting of books! Macbeth and Pygmalion for my Form 2 and 4 Lit classes and a bunch of novels all bought with funds raised by students from Archbishop Murphy High School. Liz also generously gave up some of her favorite young adult books. The girls were so excited and crowding around to see the new books as Liz and Kathleen made spine labels for them.


Adventure-wise, we visited Alleluia Care Center,


Lived life in the trading center, brought food bags to Nessi Abudu and Amake Stephen,

and walked through the plantation, but the tourist travel began once school was officially done and the girls gone home. Then, we set out as tourists! First Cape Maclear with snorkeling among the blue fish,

then the Kungoni Cultural Center, next Liwonde National park with a driving and boat safari,

and finally a three day two night hike on Mulanje the highest mountain in the southern region of Africa.

It was an amazingly fun way to end my first year in Malawi and I am so glad to have been able to share it with you all. This will be my last post as I have used up my picture allowance on WIX. I do hope to stay in touch with folks. Let me know what you are up to and I will send pictures and updates back.


Blessings in Christ,

Hannah

94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page