top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Graves

I Bless the Rains

I received several concerned inquiries about my well bwell being due to Cyclone Freddy. I am safe and sound. I've heard of people who have lost their homes and all they own, but all in my little world are fine. I can hear the little creek behind the house rushing along and the already bumpy road leading up to the Church has some veritable ravines in it.


The rains have been almost continuous since Sunday afternoon. At times they are torrential and at other times just a drizzle. We had our first sun in days this afternoon, but for all that I bless the rain. I love the sound of it on the corrugated metal roof and I can't help but think about the refilling water table after the drought. I just hope it is sinking in and not just running away with top soil.


Providentially, I just began an online class on holistic land management with the Savory Institute and have been learning about brittle vs. non brittle environments. A brittle environments is one where there is low moisture available to the soil most of the year, low soil humidity. This is regardless of the overall rainfall. Most brittle environments are highly seasonal, they have a brief intense period of rain and growth, then a massive due off. Malawi is very brittle. Practices that rejuvenate non brittle environments can lead to desertification in brittle ones and vice versa.


I got to enjoy the lush beauty of Malawi in the growing season this past weekend when I went to Mulanje Mountain and the tea plantations. Someday, I hope to hire a guide (a legal requirement apparently) and hike to the top.



80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page